The Commemorative Air Force is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the aviation heritage of World War II to the Vietnam War and expanding it through warbird restoration and organisation of airshows. It was founded in 1957 in the United States and its Head Quarters are based in Dallas, Texas.

Its main goal is preserving heritage aircraft through restoration and public presentation, in museums and airshows. While an aircraft displayed in a museum has a story to tell, it does not appeal to the visitors’ senses as an airworthy aircraft would. The CAF is actively engaged in airworthy warbird restoration to experience the sights and sounds that our veterans experienced. The CAF currently operates 165 aircraft and has 13,000 members in the world, including France.

The CAF French Wing is the French branch of the organisation and was founded in 1996 by Bernard Delfino and a handful of enthusiasts. Since 2003, it has been operating the Piper J-3 “Spirit of Lewis”, which is made available to airshow organisers and participates in ceremonies and commemorations honoring veterans. The French Wing actively honors veterans ny publishing a newsletter, articles, books and videos of veteran interviews. All of its members regularly meet at its airbase in Le Plessis-Belleville in the Oise department near Paris, where its famous annual Fly-In & BBQ is held, gathering warbirds, period vehicles and reenactors.

La Commemorative Air Force est une organisation à but non lucratif œuvrant pour la préservation de l’héritage historique issu de l’aviation de la période allant de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale jusqu’au conflit du Vietnam, pour son expansion à travers la restauration de warbirds et pour l’organisation de meetings. Elle a vu le jour aux Etats-Unis en 1957 et son Quartier Général est basé à Dallas, Texas.

Son but principal est la préservation des avions du patrimoine aéronautique à travers un travail de restauration sur de nombreux appareils et leur présentation au public dans les musées ou en meetings. En effet, un avion mis en valeur dans un musée raconte une partie de l’Histoire mais ne fait pas appel aux sens. C’est dans ce but de faire partager les sensations qu’ont connus nos vétérans que la CAF participe activement à la remise en état de vol des avions. Aujourd’hui, la CAF compte 165 avions et 13000 membres à travers le monde, dont la France.

En effet, le French Wing en est l’unité française et a été créé en 1996 par Bernard Delfino et un petit groupe de passionnés. Depuis 2003, il met en œuvre le Piper J3 « Spirit of Lewis », qui est mis à disposition des organisateurs de meetings et participe à des cérémonies honorant les vétérans. Le French Wing travaille aussi activement sur le devoir de mémoire  en publiant une newsletter, des articles, des livres et des vidéos d’interviews de vétérans qu’elle réalise. Tous ses membres se retrouvent régulièrement à son Air Base du Plessis-Belleville (60) où tous les ans est organisé un Fly-In BBQ très réputé réunissant vieux avions, véhicules militaires d’époque et figurants en tenues.